Guide

Basic How-To

  • Browse the collections by date, or use the search features on the sidebar to seek out when particular people or words were mentioned. We recommend you start with a basic search, under "Search the archives", for the sake of simplicity. Filtering and sorting options will become available after a search is conducted.
  • To limit searches to an exact phrase, you can use quotation marks, e.g.: "Emmerson Place" or "Grand Trunk Pacific", although results with all three words will take priority even without quotation marks.
  • Results are sorted by the computer's guess at the relevance of the result to your query, the most relevant first. If you want to sort your results by date, you may use the "Order Results by Date" link. This will display the results in reverse chronological order (most recent to oldest). To display the results in forward chronological order (oldest to most recent), simply click the link again.
  • Seeking back and forth inside an issue will generate a lot of URL history in your browser, necessitating many "Back" presses to get back to your search results. This can be addressed in two ways: 1) Open issues from the results page in a new tab (right-click on the link or the image thumbnail, and select "Open Link in New Tab") or 2) Perform a long left-click on your browser's back button to see a brief history of previous pages viewed in the current tab, and select the Search Results (they should appear several items back).

Sharing

There are numerous ways to share the content you find here - for example, there is a sharing button inside the issue viewer, so you can link others to what you are viewing. (The URLs can be quite long, so you may want to hide them behind a hyperlink by highlighting specific text for the link and then inserting the link - exact procedure will vary depending on your e-mail client.) You are also welcome to download and e-mail PDFs, although in some cases they will be too large for some e-mail servers. Alternatively, you can share the link to download the PDF - simply right-click on the link, "Copy link location", and paste it in an e-mail.

If you are interested in clipping out an individual article, there are at least two methods: 1) Download the PDF and open it in Adobe Reader. You can then use their selection tool to highlight an area and then copy it to the clipboard (for pasting into an e-mail or an image editor). 2) Take a screenshot from the browser view of the article using a clipping tool such as Greenshot (for Windows). These sorts of tools can be configured to save a clipping to your system and to place a copy on your clipboard simultaneously. Exact procedures will vary depending on the specific tools used. In general, you will want to be zoomed in to a readable distance as you will be copying no more and no less than what you are currently viewing.

For professional projects, we recommend downloading the original TIFFs of the pages you need, so as to be working with the highest-quality images possible.

Advanced Search

This can be used to combine keywords or limit your results to specific newspapers (at a future date). Use the "+" button to add additional fields or instances of the same field. "OR" will generally be more useful than "NOT" - if used with Text, the latter stands the danger of eliminating results that would be relevant to you, as the smallest scope of search is an entire newspaper page, not a single article in a page. (Technology to automatically split scans of newspaper pages into individual articles was not available in the early months of 2019 when this archive was built.)

Unlike ordinary searches, keywords for advanced search do not automatically carry over from the search results into the issue views for highlighting purposes. However, you can still use the "Search inside" box at the top of the issue viewer to highlight and seek any specific words you might care to.

Field types currently supported for Advanced Search:

  • Text: This field contains the text from a newspaper page as recognized by the computer. 95% of the time, this is the field you want.
  • Newspaper Name: This field contains the name of the newspaper (for example, "Prince Rupert Daily News").
  • Date: This field contains the release date of a newspaper issue, in the format YYYY-MM-DD. You can enter a year ("1932"), a year and a month ("1932-09"), or a complete date ("1932-09-06"). Any date filtering subsequently performed on the search results will be a subset of the overall results that are determined by this field. Best matches to a complete date should appear first, although you will also see other close matches (the matching is performed as if it is text). More sophisticated date filtering is available after any search, but this will help the most relevant dates appear near the top of your results. Alternatively, if you know the exact date you're looking for of a particular newspaper, you can always check the menu of dates for that paper (e.g., Prince Rupert Daily News) and use the issue viewer's search box to search for words.

If you would like us to attempt to add additional fields, please contact the Prince Rupert Library.

Troubleshooting

  • Occasionally a page of an issue may fail to load into the reader. If this happens, use Refresh or Reload on your browser. The F5 key will accomplish this in many circumstances.
  • You may experience occasional URL redirections, which will mean having to press Back twice to return to the previous navigated page. If you need to switch among multiple issues, you may wish to try using browser tabs. To load an issue or page in a new tab, right-click on the link or search result and select "Open Link in New Tab" (the exact wording will vary by browser).
  • The computer's guess (using the Tesseract engine for OCR) at the text is not layered onto the downloadable PDFs. While such layering is not a feature in Islandora, it is technically possible to do outside of it (for example, using a tool such as OCRmyPDF), but the OCR that can be derived from these scans of microfilmed newspapers is error-prone as you can see from the search result text snippets. Furthermore, the layout of pre-digital newspapers is also difficult to code for, making selecting discrete regions of text very difficult. If you would like to copy a page of text as recognized by the computer, you may do so by going to the Pages tab of an issue, then selecting the page you want, then selecting "View: Text".
  • The issue viewer control panels may cover a part of the top of the first page or the bottom of the last page that you wish to view. In such cases, you can either go into fullscreen mode, or hide the panels:

Missing Issues

Unfortunately, we do not have every edition of some of the newspapers in our collection. Generally, because they were not scanned from paper digest to microfilm, they consequently were not digitized from microfilm.

Newspaper Year Dates Volume Number
Prince Rupert Daily News 1911 December 22nd 2 293
1912 January 2nd 3 1
April 15th 3 89
June 5th 3 132
June 11th 3 137
1919 July 23rd 10 170
July 28th 10 174
August 18th 10 192
September 15th 10 215
December 8th 10 286

If you are in possession of any of these issues in any form, please contact the Prince Rupert Library. With your assistance, we may be able to get the issue scanned and included in this digital archive.

Numbering Anomalies

Occasionally the same issue number is repeated between issues. Typically, the numbering is not corrected, so the anomalous numbering is the numbering of record.

Newspaper Year Dates Volume Number
Prince Rupert Daily News 1932 September 2nd and 3rd 23 206
October 4th and 5th 23 231
December 3rd and 5th 23 280
December 30th and 31st 23 301